NACo Information & Representation

About NACo

naco logo

The National Association of Counties (NACo) unites America’s 3,069 county governments.  Founded in 1935, NACo brings county officials together to advocate with a collective voice on national policy, exchange ideas and build new leadership skills, pursue transformational county solutions, enrich the public’s understanding of county government, and exercise exemplary leadership in public service.

Wyoming has two representatives on the NACo Board of Directors:

  • Loren Grosskopf, Park County Commissioner
  • Scott Harnsberger, Fremont County Treasurer

About WIR


Wyoming is also a member of  the Western Interstate Region (WIR), an affiliation of NACo. This organization is dedicated to the promotion of Western interests within NACo. These interests include public land issues (use and conservation), community stability and economic development, and the promotion of the traditional Western way of life. Its membership consists of fifteen Western states, (Alaska, Hawaii, Wash., Ore., Calif., Idaho, Nev., Ariz., Mont., Wyo., Colo., N.M., Utah, N.D., S.D.) with membership funded through the individual state associations.

Currently, Sublette County Commissioner Joel Bousman is the President of WIR. Other Wyoming WIR Board of Directors representatives are:

  • Matt Avery, Campbell County Commissioner
  • Forrest Chadwick, Natrona County Commissioner